Advocate Grant Program | Society for Science & the Public

Advocate Grant Program

Providing stipends for mentors helping underrepresented and low income students enter science research competitions.

Society for Science & the Public's Advocate Grant Program provides a stipend to an individual (teacher, counselor, scientist, or other mentor), who agrees to serve as an advocate for 3-5 underrepresented students to transition them from conducting a scientific or engineering research project to completing applications to scientific competition(s).

Thank you for your interest in the Advocate Grant Program. The 2018 grant application is now closed. To be notified when the 2019 application opens, please sign up here.

Society Advocates (center) show students an elephant toothpaste experiment at the Advocate Training Institute in 2017.
Society Advocates (center) show students an elephant toothpaste experiment at the Advocate Training Institute in 2017.
Photo courtesy of Society for Science & the Public/Jessica Yurinko.

Advocates support the students in:

  • finding potential research competitions
  • being aware of deadlines
  • gathering information needed for the application
  • navigating the overall science competition process

Advocates receive a stipend of $3,000; opportunities to meet and interact with their cohort both in-person and throughout the program duration, and ongoing training and support from the Society. Funding for the Advocate Grant Program is provided by Arconic Foundation, Jack Kent Cooke Foundation, and Regeneron.

It is important for socioeconomically challenged students to participate in science fairs because they give students opportunities beyond what can be offered in the classroom.
—Scott Bolen

Why should students participate in scientific competition?

  • learn the true nature of science and experience the thrill of discovery
  • gain additional skills such as learning how to write a scientific journal article and how to present their work to peers, scientists and the public
  • inspire confidence in their scientific abilities
  • lead them to consider a STEM career
  • provide monetary awards for post-secondary education
  • boost a student’s chance of acceptance into the college or university of their choice

Read more about the Advocates on our blog or view the press release for the 2017-2018 school year.

One of Charmain Brammer's (2017 Advocate) peers into a microscope.
One of Charmain Brammer's (2017 Advocate) peers into a microscope.

The Advocates for the 2017-2018 school year:

  • Elkhan Akhundov in Baton Rouge, Louisiana
  • Elias Arellano-Villanueva in Weslaco, Texas
  • Laurel Bingman in Houston, Texas
  • Scott Bolen in Conyers, Georgia
  • Charmain Brammer in St George, Utah
  • Amy Brown in Salinas, California
  • Celia Castellanos in Los Angeles, California
  • Mitch Charkiewicz in Suffield, Connecticut
  • Jennifer Claudio in San Jose, California
  • Juliane Codd in Richmond, Virginia
  • Sarah Connelly in Saint Paul, Minnesota
  • ShaRetha Crawford Dansby in Birmingham, Alabama
  • Deanna Cusick in Aurora, Colorado
  • Amy Douglas in Shreveport, Louisiana
  • Conrad Faine in Hialeah, Florida
  • Charlie Flint in Hawthorne, California
  • Mark Friedman in San Pedro, California
  • Jeffery Fritz in Wausau, Wisconsin
  • Constantina Green in Hopkins, South Carolina 
  • Vincent Joralemon in New York, New York
  • Shana Lee in Starkville, Mississippi
  • Lauren Levites in Chicago, Illinois
  • Chantelle Lott in Tulsa, Oklahoma
  • Jamie Ludwig in Lawrence Township, New Jersey
  • Priscilla Lumbreras in La Joya, Texas
  • Noelle Martell in Morenci, Michigan
  • Douglas Masterson in Hattiesburg, Mississippi
  • Donna Maus in Pittsburg, Kansas
  • Nathaniel Moore in South Burlington Vermont
  • Marteen Nolan in Crocker Missouri
  • Vincent O'Leary in Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
  • Pamela Patterson-Anhalt in Shawano, Wisconsin
  • Ashley Poloha in Pasadena, Texas
  • Elizabeth Proctor in Monticello, Georgia
  • Anne Rammelsberg in Decatur, Illinois
  • Lisa Ranney in Lafayette, Louisiana
  • Cheri Reznicek in Maryville, Tennessee
  • Brenda Rubenstein in Providence, Rhode Island
  • Tom Schmedake in Charlotte, North Carolina
  • Linda Sciaroni in Lynwood, California
  • Ellen Smith Tourigny in Manchester, New Hampshire
  • Diana Techentien in Jacksonville, Florida
  • Laura Tenorio in Taos, New Mexico
  • Cindy Ward-Thompson in St. Paul, Minnesota 
  • Freda Vine in Las Vegas, Nevada
Elizabeth Proctor's (2016 Advocate) students donned biohazard suits at the CDC in Atlanta.
Elizabeth Proctor's (2016 Advocate) students donned biohazard suits at the CDC in Atlanta.

The Advocates for the 2016-2017 school year:

  • Lauren Allgood, in Nashville, Tennessee
  • Oluwatoyin Asojo, in Houston, Texas
  • Scott Bolen, in Conyers, Georgia
  • Dolores Caffey-Fleming, in Los Angeles, California
  • Carrie Cao, in San Francisco, California
  • Mitchell Charkiewicz, in Suffield, Connecticut
  • Sarah Connelly, in Saint Paul, Minnesota
  • Deanna Cusick, in Aurora, Colorado
  • Alexa Dantzler, in Atlanta, Georgia
  • Sakinah Ellickson, in Iowa City, Iowa
  • Antonio Gamboa, in Pomona, California
  • Shari Harrison, in Indianapolis, Indiana
  • Bonnie Lasorsa, in Wareham, Massachusetts
  • Priscilla Lumbreras, in La Joya, Texas
  • Sheila Marquez, in Tucson, Arizona
  • Douglas Masterson, in Hattiesburg, Mississippi
  • Patricia Monteith, in Boston, Massachusetts
  • Lynne Muhammad, in Chicago, Illinois
  • Kelly Norton Pipes, in Wilkesboro, North Carolina
  • Jennifer O’Connor, in Ethete, Wyoming
  • Deanna Pick, in Fort Pierce, Florida
  • Andrew Pineda, in Whiteriver, Arizona
  • Elizabeth Proctor, in Monticello, Georgia
  • Anne Rammelsberg, in Decatur, Illinois
  • Lisa Ranney, in Lafayette, Louisiana
  • Cheri Reznicek, in Maryville, Tennessee
  • Karl Sandeman, in Brooklyn, New York
  • Thomas Schmedake, in Charlotte, North Carolina
  • Syndney Stringham, in Salt Lake City, Utah
  • Laura Tenorio, in Taos, New Mexico
  • Freda Vine, in Las Vegas, Nevada

Read about 2016 Advocates Mitch Charkiewicz and Elizabeth Proctor.